Concurrent MDiv & MDiv Curriculum | Franciscan School of Theology

Concurrent MDiv and MTS Degrees


The concurrent Master of Divinity (MDiv) and Master of Theological Studies (MTS) degree provides both academic study and ministerial training. This degree can prepare students for professional ministry, careers in education, or further academic work.

Concurrent MDiv and MTS Degree

The concurrent Master of Divinity (MDiv) and Master of Theological Studies (MTS) degree prepares students for Church or lay ecclesial ministry, and provides a breadth of theological understanding. The goals for this four-year program are the same as for the individual MTS and MDiv degrees.

Students intending to serve as ordained presbyters in the Roman Catholic Church are required to complete an additional year of theological and ministerial formation. See our Non-Degree Programs page for more details.

Concurrent MDiv and MTS degree students are required to:

  • Complete 96 semester units as listed in the curriculum below, of which a maximum of 24 may be taken at the University of San Diego’s graduate schools.
  • Engage in all field education requirements
  • Maintain an overall 3.0 grade point average in all required and elective courses
  • Be enrolled in the school for at least 8 semesters to fulfill the 4-year full-time tuition residency requirement
  • Complete all work within 8 years of the first semester of enrollment

Curriculum of the MDiv/MTS Program

Course Area


First Semester

Introduction to Old Testament 3
Basic Christian Liturgy 3
Basic Systematic Theology (Intro or God and Trinity) 3
Ancient Christianity/Medieval to Reformation 3

Second to Eighth Semesters

Fundamental Moral Theology 3
History 3
Modern American Catholicism or Interpreting the Church Today 3
Second Course in Ethics (Choose 1)
Introduction to New Testament 3
Advanced New Testament Courses (Choose 2)
-Synoptic Gospels
-Gospel and Epistles of John
-Pauline Letters
Advanced Old Testament Courses (Choose 1)
-Wisdom Literature
Christology 3
Intercultural Theology (in __________) 3
Spirituality 3
Ecclesiology: Theology and Ministry in the Church 3
Sacramental Theology 3
Professional Ethics 1.5

Third to Sixth Semesters

Ministry Seminar I 3
Ministry Seminar II 3
Ministry Seminar III 3
Ministry Seminar IV 3
Electives 13.5
Elective Specialization 12
Thesis 6