Corporate Title and Governance - Franciscan School of Theology

Corporate Title and Governance

The Franciscan School of Theology is managed by the Province of St. Barbara of the Order of Friars Minor. The School has a curricular and service agreement with the University of San Diego (USD), a private Catholic institution of higher learning.

The School is governed by a Board of Trustees made up of eight friars of the Province of St. Barbara, and by a Board of Regents made up of lay and religious members.

Very Rev. David Gaa, OFM, Chair
Fr. Martin Ibarra, OFM, Vice Chair
Fr. Thomas West, OFM, Secretary


Fr. Garrett Galvin, OFM
Fr. Anthony Garibaldi, OFM
Bro. John Gutierrez, OFM
Fr. Daniel Lackie, OFM
Fr. William Minkel, OFM
Fr. Joseph Schwab, OFM

Mr. Gery Short,  Chair


Ms. Kathleen Flanagan

Dr. Dennis Galligani, Chair Emeritus

Mr. Dan Gensler
Fr. John Hardin, OFM

Dr. Bonnie Hardwick
Mr. Daniel Herbert
Fr. Michael Higgins, TOR
Ms. Gwen Hillis
Fr. Daniel P. Horan, OFM

Dcn. Chris Hulburt
Dr. Mary Lyons
Ms. Betsy Manchester

Mr. Michael Mechill

Fr. Thomas Nairn, OFM

Dr. Timothy O’Malley
Mr. Thomas Peterson
Fr. Joseph Schwab, OFM
Mr. G. Tom Simmons
Mr. Clark Stanton
Mr. Herb Tasker