Corporate Title and Governance

The Franciscan School of Theology is managed by the Province of St. Barbara of the Order of Friars Minor. The School has a curricular and service agreement with the University of San Diego (USD), a private Catholic institution of higher learning.

The School is governed by a Board of Trustees made up of eight friars of the Province of St. Barbara, and by a Board of Regents made up of lay and religious members.


Board of Trustees

  • Very Rev. David Gaa, OFM, Chair
  • Fr. Martin Ibarra, OFM, Vice Chair
  • Fr. Thomas West, OFM, Secretary


  • Fr. Garrett Galvin, OFM
  • Fr. Anthony Garibaldi, OFM
  • Fr. John Gibbons, OFM
  • Fr. Daniel Lackie, OFM
  • Fr. William Minkel, OFM
  • Fr. Joseph Schwab, OFM


Board of Regents

  • Dr. Timothy O’Malley,  Chair
  • Fr. Thomas Nairn, OFM,  Vice Chair
  • Fr. Daniel P. Horan, OFM, Secretary


  • Mr. Nils Christian Behnke
  • Mr. Robert F. Crawford, Jr.
  • Ms. Kathleen Flanagan
  • Fr. James Gannon, OFM
  • Fr. Garrett Galvin, OFM
  • Mr. Dan Gensler
  • Fr. Daniel P. Horan, OFM
  • Dcn. Chris Hulburt
  • Sr. Mary Beth Ingham, CSJ
  • Dr. Mary Lyons
  • Ms. Betsy Manchester
  • Mr. Michael Mechill
  • Mr. Mike W. Murphy
  • Fr. Michael Sinor
  • Ms. Carmen Vazquez

Take the first step on your journey to change the world.



Make an impact in the lives of students and the communities they serve. Your generous support empowers our mission to form flourishing faith leaders that heal our world.